An MLex Anti-Bribery & Corruption Exclusive


Society of Publishers in Asia Awards for Editorial Excellence 2017 Winner:

  • Excellence in Business Reporting 
  • The Scoop Award

MLex Anti-Bribery & Corruption service was first to break the news that Standard Chartered Private Equity, the private equity and venture capital arm of Standard Chartered Bank, is embroiled in extensive bribery allegations in Indonesia.

As the story has continued to develop, MLex has continued to report more exclusive details about the allegations. To read the complete insights listed below, and be the first to know about upcoming developments, request a free trial of the MLex anti-bribery and corruption service.

The Story So Far

  • Wednesday September 13  2017
    Standard Chartered to be quizzed in UK over response to MAXpower bribery allegations
  • Friday March 31 2017
    Mitsui files for arbitration against Indonesia's MAXpower, in wake of corruption scandal
  • Tuesday December 20 2016
    MAXpower faces KPK demand for answers over corruption allegations
  • Tuesday December 6 2016
    Indonesia's MAXpower engaged in investigation to find sources of corruption disclosures
  • Tuesday December 6 2016
    Indonesia's MAXpower engaged in investigation to find sources of corruption disclosures
  • Wednesday October 12 2016
    MAXpower founders deny involvement in bribes, question their dismissal from company
  • Wednesday September 28 2016
    Standard Chartered Bank acknowledges US involvement in corruption probe of MAXpower
  • Tuesday September 6 2016
    MAXpower directors, founders secretly recorded discussing how to funnel cash to Indonesian officials after misuse of company cash advances foiled
  • Tuesday June 14 2016
    CEO of debt-plagued MAXpower received $400,000 in bonuses since appointment in September 2015
  • Monday June 6 2016
    Allegations against MAXpower extend to suspicious transactions with related parties
  • Friday May 13 2016
    SCB could be liable for books and records violations of private equity arm in Indonesia under US laws, experts say
  • Tuesday May 10 2016
    MAXpower directors linked to firms exposed by Panama Papers leak
  • Thursday May 5 2016
    Indonesia's MAXpower fired whistleblower in run-up to attempted bond issue
  • Monday May 1 2016
    Standard Chartered, acknowledging allegations MAXpower paid bribes, says it would disclose such allegations to regulators as a matter of course
  • Wednesday April 27 2016
    MAXpower corruption allegations center around scheme to use company cash advances to pay bribes
  • Monday April 25 2016
    Standard Chartered Bank's private equity arm embroiled in bribery scandal in Indonesia